12
Sep
07

I hate flags at half staff.

I hate flags at half staff. They make me sad. It’s almost a physical hurt. I’m not sure if that will make sense to anyone, but it does. Today it made me cry. I was sitting a red light and looked over. The flag was so beautiful. The wind was blowing, and the day felt really cool. It was one of those really large flags, so being at half staff was even more pronounced. Tears for the loved ones lost.

My mom’s birthday was Sunday. She would have been 49, and I miss her terribly.

1 Response to “I hate flags at half staff.”


  1. September 13, 2007 at 3:19 am

    Flags at half mast always seem to me to be a public symbol of private hurt. I’m sorry for your grief.


Leave a Reply

